2 move chess

Logic Level 2

In 2-move chess, in which each player can make 2 moves, can Black win, assuming optimal play?

Yes Unknown No

This section requires Javascript.
You are seeing this because something didn't load right. We suggest you, (a) try refreshing the page, (b) enabling javascript if it is disabled on your browser and, finally, (c) loading the non-javascript version of this page . We're sorry about the hassle.

1 solution

Alex Li
Jun 16, 2015

Assume, for the sake of contradiction, that Black can win no matter what White does on his first turn. Then, if White moves his knight out and back, the resulting position is a winning position. However, this position is the same as the original position, so White's original position was a winning position. This is a contradiction, so Black cannot win.

Moderator note:

The strategy stealing approach is a common argument that is provided. However, more care has to be taken, because of the way Chess is played.

For example, can't Black similarly play a "delay turn tactic"? How does the "draw when position is repeated thrice" rule come into play?

0 pending reports

×

Problem Loading...

Note Loading...

Set Loading...